Welcome to Edinburgh

 

 

Leamington Books publishes a variety of fiction and non-fiction titles under our ethos, Transformative Publishing.

Our authors are chosen for their undiscovered talents, unique perspectives and one-of-a-kind stories to tell. Leamington’s work is driven by a wish to bring these concepts into reality with passion, drive and support ― to make our authors’ dreams come true, and to uphold voices that have perhaps been ignored or neglected in the past.

In particular, we value neurodivergent, disabled and and chronically ill writers and editors, taking measures to ensure that every submission opening or writing opportunity strongly encourages these works and narratives.

This has prompted us to develop the company and in 2021, we changed to a Community Interest Company on the basis of carrying this goal into the future.

Our work can be summarised in our company values: fun, safety and creativity.

In 2021, we published 14 titles across multiple genres, including fiction, non-fiction, anthology and poetry.

At present, we manage six imprints: Leamington Books, Garrison, The Magic Road, Gothic World Literature Editions, Pierpoint and Poetry Imprint. We aim for our imprints to carry an interesting, multifaceted set of work ― for example, Garrison is the home of crime and psychological drama, whilst our Gothic World Literature Editions re- introduces and re-presents important classics, such as The Crux and The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; Mizora by Mary E. Bradley Lane; The Black Vampyre by Uriah Derrick D’arcy; and Hell by Henri Barbusse.

Our 2021 bestsellers included Charlie Roy’s emotional drama, The Broken Pane, and Colin Burnett’s Scots socio-political story collection, A Working Class State of Mind; alongside Ewan Gault’s gritty small-town thriller, The Sound of Sirens, and Karen Taylor’s exciting serial-killer chase, Fairest Creatures.

We have recently partnered with Scotland’s best-known radical political blog Bella Caledonia, to produce an anthology of writing from 2007 to 2021.

We have published popular non-fiction titles The Runes: A Grounding in Northern Magic by James Flowerdew; and Blockchain, Bitcoin and You by Temple Melville.

Leamington also publishes the work of John Herdman, Scotland’s key post-war novella and short novel writer, whose books have a gothic and sometimes supernatural edge, in the tradition of Scott and Hogg.

In 2022 we will publish Carla the debut poetry collection from Carla Woodburn; and Polaris by Scotland’s premier Gaelic writer Marcas Mac an Tuairneir.

We are delighted to have become a country finalist for The Bookseller’s Small Press of the Year Award in 2022.

 

 

    

OUR COMPANY VALUES: 

FUN * SAFETY * CREATIVITY

Some current links:

 

A Working Class State of Mind by Colin Burnett - - buy it from Lighthouse or  direct from this website or find it on Kindle, and on Google Play Store, and on Kobo  // It's About Time by Lesley Storm on Kobo, Kindle, and on Google Play Store // Buy Blockchain, Bitcoin and You from this site, from Kindle, on Kobo and on Google Play Store. It's About Time by Lesley Storm is also available from Lighthouse.

The Broken Pane by Charlie Roy is available from this site // The Broken Pane in Hardcover is available to order from Waterstones, and from 1st October will be available on Amazon //

 Ewan Gault's The Sound of Sirens available from Foyles //

Follow Colin Burnett on Twitter // The Runes: a Grounding in Northern Magic by James Flowerdew on Amazon //

The Crux by Charlotte Perkins Gilman on Kindle // Hell by Henri Barbusse - - especially nice on Kindle

Read Imelda by John Herdman, the book that kicked off our publishing career - - Imelda is available from our own website and on Amazon, Imelda by John Herdman on Kobo, on Kindle and also on Google Play Store. Imelda by John Herdman at Waterstones.

Thank you to Waterstones who stock The Sinner by Stuart MacGregor; and thank you to Waterstones for also stocking Voice Without Restraint by John Herdman, The Broken Pane by Charlie RoyThe Crux by Charlotte Perkins Gilman,

Voice Without Restraint: Bob Dylan's Lyrics 1961 - 1981 by John Herdman is available on Kobo, in Paperback, on Kindle, and in Google Play Store // Find out about The Scotcoin Project // Like Leamington Books on Facebook  // Check out LoveBooksGroup //  The Black Vampyre is still causing terror on Kobo!

Obtain Weird Pleasure by Jim Ferguson by visiting Google Play Store. Weird Pleasure on Kindle; Weird Pleasure on Kobo; Weird Pleasure in paperback from this website; they are all by Jim Fergson! // Visit Jim Ferguson's website too

Get Weird Pleasure by Jim Ferguson on Audible! 

Available Instantly - - hear the audio sample!

Ghostwriting by John Herdman on Google Play Store and on Rakuten Kobo - - this is an incredible Gothic tale from Scotland //